50 Best lines from Shakespeare’s plays

Words have the power to give life. And Shakespeare is one of those who used them wisely. His plays are more famous for the lines than the stories. Plays such as ‘Hamlet’, ‘Tempest’ and ‘Othello’ have been performed time and again from generations to generations and still have the power to drool the audience in the pool of emotions. It is difficult to decide among such great plays the fifty best ones but in order to do so one can start from the most famous plays of such as:

1. Hamlet

1“To be, or not to be: that is the question”. – (Act III, Scene I)
“This above all: to thine own self be true”. – (Act I, Scene III).
“Though this be madness, yet there is method in ‘t.”. – (Act II, Scene II).
“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so”. – (Act II, Scene II)
“A little more than kin, and less than kind”. – (Act I, Scene II).
“The play’s the thing wherein I’ll catch the conscience of the king”. – (Act II, Scene II)

2. As You Like It

2“All the world ‘s a stage, and all the men and women merely players. They have their exits and their entrances; And one man in his time plays many parts” – (Act II, Scene VII).

“Blow, blow, thou winter wind! Thou art not so unkind as man’s ingratitude”.(Act II, Scene VII).

“True is it that we have seen better days”. – (Act II, Scene VII)

“The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool”. – (Act V, Scene I).

3. Romeo and Juliet

“O Romeo, Romeo! wherefore art thou Romeo?”. – (Act II, Scene II).

“It is the east, and Juliet is the sun” . – (Act II, Scene II).

“Good Night, Good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow, that I shall say good night till it be morrow.” – (Act II, Scene II).

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”. – (Act II, Scene II).

4
4. The Merchant of Venice

“But love is blind, and lovers cannot see”.

“If you prick us, do we not bleed? if you tickle us, do we n

5. Julius Caesar

“Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears; I come to bury Caesar, not to praise him”. – (Act III, Scene II).

“Et tu, Brute!” – (Act III, Scene I).

“Not that I loved Caesar less, but that I loved Rome more”. – (Act III, Scene II).

“This was the noblest Roman of them all”. – (Act V, Scene V).

“For Brutus is an honourable man; So are they all, all honourable men”. – (Act III, Scene II).

6. Macbeth

“There ‘s daggers in men’s smiles”. – (Act II, Scene III).

“what ‘s done is done”.- (Act III, Scene II).

“I dare do all that may become a man; Who dares do more is none”. – (Act I, Scene VII).

“Fair is foul, and foul is fair”. – (Act I, Scene I)

“Is this a dagger which I see before me, The handle toward my hand?” – (Act II, Scene I).

7. King Lear

“How sharper than a serpent’s tooth it is to have a thankless child!” – (Act I, Scene IV).

“I am a man more sinned against than sinning”. – (Act III, Scene II).

“My love’s more richer than my tongue”. – (Act I, Scene I).

8. Othello
5
“‘T’is neither here nor there.” – (Act IV, Scene III).

“I will wear my heart upon my sleeve for daws to peck at”. – (Act I, Scene I).

“To mourn a mischief that is past and gone is the next way to draw new mischief on”. – (Act I, Scene III).

“The robbed that smiles steals something from the thief”. – (Act I, Scene III).

9. Antony and Cleopatra

“My salad days, when I was green in judgment.” – (Act I, Scene V).

6
10. Twelfth Night

“Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them”. – (Act II, Scene V).

“Love sought is good, but giv’n unsought is better” . – (Act III, Scene I).

11. The Tempest

“We are such stuff as dreams are made on, rounded with a little sleep”.

12. Much Ado About Nothing

“Everyone can master a grief but he that has it”. – (Act III, Scene II).

13. Titus Andronicus

“These words are razors to my wounded heart”. – (Act I, Scene I).

14. The Winter’s Tale

“What ‘s gone and what ‘s past help should be past grief” . – (Act III, Scene II).

“You pay a great deal too dear for what’s given freely”. – (Act I, Scene I).

7
15. Taming of the Shrew

“Out of the jaws of death”. – (Act III, Scene IV).

“Thus the whirligig of time brings in his revenges”. – (Act V, Scene I).

“For the rain it raineth every day”. – (Act V, Scene I).

8
16. Troilus and Cressida

“The common curse of mankind, – folly and ignorance”. – (Act II, Scene III).

17. Coriolanus

“Nature teaches beasts to know their friends”. – (Act II, Scene I).
9

These lines would surely develop different thoughts in your mind. Some might raise the question that how a single person could possibly write so much and that too extraordinary?

Every line has a complete meaning in itself.  One can go through them time and again and who knows someone may create a different meaning out of them.

–Aman Verma

www.storymirror.com

Leave a Reply

